Skip to content

I knew I was in for it…

January 26, 2012

…when I pulled up this morning.  I only saw one person working out through the glass front.  I sat in my jeep for a while before I saw the same person walk outside for a while before he started running.  He was breathing really hard.  After he finished his run and went back inside, it was a while before the next person came out for their run…and they were walking as well.  When I went inside I heard someone say “leave now!”  The 0530 class is normally finished or finishing up by the time I get inside to warm up…not this morning. 

0630 crossfit workout
100 air squats
90 2 for 1 mountain climbers
80 sit-ups
70 kettlebell swings @ 1.5 pood
60 hands release push-ups
50 double unders
400 meter run
30 pull-ups
20 burpees
10 hand stand push-ups
41:07 

I lost my rx on the hand stand push-ups.  I did the wall walking variation.  I used a medicine ball on the air squats to keep myself in check…everyone in my class did.  I probably lost the most time on the pull-ups.  Again, I need to work on the kipping variation of pull-ups…like so:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mvhxum803go&list=PL084E4CEEDBEA4EB5&index=2&feature=plpp_video

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ja_PMJ5BOYI&feature=bf_next&list=PL084E4CEEDBEA4EB5&lf=plpp_video

My shoulder isn’t bothering me anymore, but my back is after today’s workout…wtf?!  The only thing I can think it could be from is kettlebell swings.  I thought my form was pretty good.  70 kettlebell swings is a lot though! 

my short business trip went fine, as far as paleo is concerned. I spent about 12 hours on the road, which is always a challenge with paleo. I was able to hit crossfit Tuesday morning, as well as eat breakfast, and pack a cooler. I really didn’t eat lunch; but I snacked from my cooler. Dinner was chipotle, again: double steak fajita bowl with guacamole, tomatoes, and lettuce. Unfortunately, the lid wasn’t on tight enough and steak juice got all over the passenger side seat and floor of someone else’s work car. I was reminded of the meal when I got back in the car the next morning. It was actually a good smell. I spent a good while cleaning that up after I got home.

For breakfast, the hotel offered starbuck’s style breakfast sandwiches at starbuck’s prices. I found a diner and had an omelet the way I wanted it, which held me over until I got home. The coffee from the hotel and from the diner was terrible. I stopped at starbuck’s about half way home, and got a grande red eye (coffee with a shot of espresso – black of course), and one of those mango naked drinks (delicious). $8 later…

I never made it to crossfit yesterday. The drive sucked the life out of me, and I had homework to do.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

