Skip to content

front squats?! again?! really?! f*$k!

February 13, 2012

0630 crossfit workout
dead lift 1 – 1 – 1 – 1 – 1
135 (warm-up) – 185 – 225 – 275 – 295 (fail) – 285 (fail)

18 minute AMRAP (as many rounds as possible) of:
10 front squats @ 135lbs
12 hands release push-ups
400 meter run (in the freezing cold mind you)
rx 4 rounds

after doing dead lift 3-3-3-3-3 the last week or so, and maxing out at 255, I figured I could get a good bit more than 255 for my 1 rep max.  not quite sure what I did wrong to fail on 295 / 285 after lifting 275, but I stopped because I started to feel like I was using my back.  275 was heavy for me, and I felt my grip slipping, but I was still able to manage it. 

damn front squats again.  I complained all weekend long about how sore I was after Saturday’s front squats.  I had to do each set broken; I dropped the weight after 5 reps and took a short break before getting the last 5.  the weight didn’t feel that bad power cleaning it up, but it did put some serious stress on my already jacked-up wrists.  I managed to open up the scab on my leg again, but not during the dead lifts.  I noticed the blood running down my leg when I went to pick the bar back up after finishing my first round.  that was right about the time my coach noticed it as well.  she was nice enough to grab me some paper towels, and started looking for some bandages.  I told her not to worry about it; that I’d clean it up when I was finished.  I ended up finishing my fourth round with about 45 seconds on the clock.  I probably should have kept going, but I refused to pick up that damn bar again!

I managed to finish Algebra with an A-!  seriously pulled that out of my @$$!  all I’ve got left to do this semester is finish my final assignment for Sociology, which is due tonight.  then I get a whopping 4 day break before the next semester begins!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

