Skip to content

holiday weekend full of cheatin’

February 21, 2012

0630 crossfit workout
75 yards of burpee broad jumps
1 mile run
30 dead lifts @ 225lbs
15:13

I scaled my dead lifts to 185lbs.  I warmed up a little with 135lbs.  then I did one or two at 185lbs and it felt really heavy this morning!  then I did one rep at 225lbs and was happy with my choice of 185lbs.  there was word going around that tomorrow’s workout will be 100 burpee pull-ups for time.  the last time I attempted that, I switched (mid-workout) from going for 100, to doing as many as I could in 20 minutes…which was about 78 I believe.  well, I’ve got some goals for tomorrow at least.      

my folks (dad & step mom) were in town this weekend from NY. we haven’t seen them in at least a year.  it was nice to see them, and it went by way too fast; as it always does.  the boys had a great time with them.   

how did I cheat this weekend? let me count the ways:

Saturday
Nor*Cal margarita w/ patron
1 additional shot of patron
apple crisp & vanilla ice cream

Sunday
a piece of a cinnamon & honey pretzel from Mellow Mushroom
about half of a gluten-free, house pizza from Mellow Mushroom

Monday
half of a milk chocolate bar from Trader Joe’s (instant gas)
apple crisp & leftover vanilla ice cream

I’m pretty sure there was more, but that’s all I can remember at the moment.  was it worth it?  I don’t know.  it’s nice to cheat once in a while, but I need to set better boundaries.  I cheated more than I wanted to.  it’s easy to think, “well, I already cheated earlier (or yesterday), why not cheat a little more?”  I love food, and I love to eat.  I swear, food and eating could be my addiction if I lacked self-control and discipline.  

started another semester on Sunday.  last night’s homeland security class was pretty interesting.  we spent the whole time talking about terrorism.  it was a nice refresher.  hopefully, I don’t have as hard a time keeping my head above water during this semester.  my other class is technical speaking.  one more down, one more to get through (well, about 17 more to get through, but I can only get through one at a time).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

