Skip to content

good workout this morning…even though it sucked!

March 8, 2012
tags:

0630 crossfit workout
split snatch
2-2-2-2-2
45-65-85-95-105 (fail)

10 minute AMRAP (as many rounds as possible) of:
10 wall ball shots w/ 20lbs ball
5 burpees
40 meter shuffle
8 & 2/3rds rounds

I felt good this morning. Even though I felt like I was going to die towards the end. This morning’s AMRAP was the type of workout I was hoping for yesterday. The split squats were a new movement for me. There was much debate on whether or not your knee should hit the ground. The final verdict was: deep lunge, knee hitting the ground equals no rep. Which makes sense since your knee on the ground stabilizes you and helps support the weight. I was complaining early on the AMRAP! Then I had a combination of not being able to catch my breath and something wrong with my throat interfering with swallowing. I tried my hardest to not to let it stop or slow me down. There was a heck of a lot of hands on my hips going on. I was able to workout with my former coach this morning, which was pretty cool. We were neck and neck for a good while. I was actually ahead of her, but she would catch me on the burpees. She didn’t have quite as far as a way down to the ground as I did! She is quick!

I had to contest my results at the end of the workout. There was about a half round to a full round’s difference between my former coach and I, when she finished just ahead of me. And I know she didn’t lap me. I don’t normally say anything when the board is off, but man, I felt wronged this morning. I wish I would have been keeping count…was the last thing on my mind. Then, I thought about it after I left and I only got credit for finishing the wall ball shots when I finished the burpees and started the run when time was called. Don’t want credit for anything I didn’t do, but damn sure want credit for what I did do! Might just need to start keeping track. I’ve already said I need to not worry about everyone else’s scores on the board; do I have to start not worrying about mine?

It’s nice to be home after that short business trip where I was confined to a vehicle for two days. I missed my wife and kids. I missed saying good night to my kids. I missed sleeping in my own bed. I missed the warmth of my wife’s body…even if she does push me away in her sleep. How did I make it through a five and a seven month deployment? I’ll never forget the conversations deep into the seven month deployment to Iraq where my wife would say she felt like she didn’t even know me anymore…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

