Skip to content

man, I’m tired!

March 14, 2012

0630 crossfit workout
in honor of a member’s 44th birthday
run 440 yards
44 hand release push-ups
run 440 yards
44 sit-ups
run 440 yards
44 wall ball shots w/ 20lbs ball
run 440 yards
44 kettlebell swings @ 1.5 pood
run 440 yards
rx 20:05

tired indeed.  I slept in yesterday because I was up until 2330 doing homework the night before.  then I just laid in bed, wide awake, for about 30 minutes.  must have been the 3 cups of coffee I had throughout the day.  while it was nice to sleep in, I just could not get my body to wake up.  I don’t know if it’s from not sleeping enough, skipping a workout, adding strength training, my body recovering, or what…I’m sure it’s a culmination of all those things.  I was even exhausted when I started my workout at about 1730 last night.  was having trouble keeping my eyes open.  I feel a little bit better at the moment…still pretty tired though.  after work on Monday, I took my 8-year-old to scouts and then to baseball practice.  so, I started my homework after we got home around 2130.  been hectic lately…just non-stop!  baseball practice tonight, tomorrow night, and Friday night.  scrimmage on Saturday that we’re going to miss because we’re going camping with scouts ( I’m taking my 5-year-old as well).  when am I going to get my homework done?!  on top of all that, I found out the car we had 50 – 75 percent finished is not eligible to race because it’s not an official Boy Scouts of America car.  my wife even warned me.  yup, she told me so.  so I started cutting the new car last night.  it’s not as easy as it seems.  I was using a grinding wheel last night that my neighbor recommended after he saw me using a sanding attachment.  it worked fairly well, but I’m pretty sure that wheel is now shot.  the coping saw I was using for my cuts wasn’t much better.  maybe it was just me, but all my cuts were on a slant.  I’m tempted to start over again; we’ll see how it comes out.    I’m going to pick up a saw attachment for my dremel today in hopes of making things a little bit easier.  I wish I could just pick up the trio or the other cutting tool they make.  I’ll have to contemplate that while at Lowe’s later.  the wife will kill me!  I already left the house this morning with her pissed at me. 

I hit two 5/3/1 workouts so far this week.  I believe I’m doing them out-of-order though.  I started with squats Monday and did bench yesterday.  not that I think it matters, as long as upper body and lower body are alternated.  I think I might have started too heavy (with my squats at least), which is a big no-no for the program.  my final work set of 185lbs just felt really heavy!  my back has been hurting as well…  I used all my numbers from the past 2.5 months of crossfit, so I figured I would be good.  I guesstimate on the shoulder press, but stayed on the lower side.  the webpage I read yesterday said not to workout more than two days in a row.  hmm…  http://www.t-nation.com/free_online_article/sports_body_training_performance/how_to_build_pure_strength  I wonder how Jim Wendler would fare if he knew I was doing it in addition to crossfit.  he’d probably cuss me out.  I am only doing the main lifts.  already, my legs are fatigued like they were when I was doing starting strength.  I could definitely feel them on my walk upstairs this morning.  

I entered my 1 rep max on the 5/3/1 calculator http://blackironbeast.com/5/3/1/calculator as follows:
squat = 225
bench = 195
dead lift = 275
press = 125

I did 5 reps on my third work set with squats and 7 reps on my third work set with bench.  I’m hoping I can keep up with it in addition to crossfit.  I’ll just have to really listen to my body.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

