Skip to content

fun with burpee pull-ups

April 10, 2012

0630 crossfit workout
10 minute AMRAP (as many reps as possible) of: burpee pull-ups followed immediately by (continuously running clock)
5 minute AMRAP (as many reps as possible) of: push press @ 95lbs
score = total number of reps
rx 84

supplemental
squats 155 x 5 x 3
a little more handstand push-up practice 

I thought I had a decent pace with the burpee pull-ups this morning; I knocked out 52 in 10 minutes.  then I checked my time from 02/22/2012 when I did 100 burpee pull-ups and I did them in 22:06!  I don’t believe I was on that same pace this morning!

155lbs felt extremely heavy to me this morning.  my strength has gone down big time.  why am I having so much trouble incorporating strength training into my routine???  there is just not enough time in a day.  and online classes just started back up.  like I’ve said before, I might just need to wait until after I graduate to incorporate a strict strength training regimen in addition to crossfit.

I’m beginning to feel a little more comfortable with hand stand push-ups.  I’m able to catch the wall with my feet a lot easier…and support myself better on the way up.  the first couple of times, I just held myself up there for a little while without even attempting a push-up.  then, I had the bright idea to add a few ab mats after watching the YouTube videos I posted yesterday.  with 3 ab mats I cranked out about 3 handstand push-ups.  after removing one, I cranked out about 2 handstand push-ups.  I even tried the kip with one leg, but it wasn’t working out to well for me.  I did forget that my back was supposed to be against the wall for the kip.  I’m slowly making progress!  handstand push-ups take a toll on my wrists.  I’m also having a hard time keeping my abs tight…I feel the big arch in my back that’s mentioned in the video(s).

this song came on right as I pulled up to work…wish I could have stayed in my car and jammed to it (now that I think of it, I could have – there wasn’t anything going on when I came in)…classic:


so, Overeem may be out…  that’s too bad, I was looking forward to this fight, even though I never decided who to root for! 

http://www.heavy.com/mma/mma-commentary/2012/04/if-alistair-overeem-cant-go-what-next-for-junior-dos-santos-at-ufc-146/

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

