Skip to content

slept in yesterday…

April 25, 2012

…and I was regretting it all day long.  I was up pretty late the night before doing homework.  I don’t know how much longer I can take this online college bullsh!t!  the alarm went off @ 0530 and I was a protesting son-of-a-gun!  I ended up sleeping in ’til about 0715.  what is it about sleeping in and skipping my morning workout, that makes it so hard for me to wake up and get going?  all day long I just felt sluggish and couldn’t snap out of it.  is my body in recovery mode and taking advantage of the break?  or does my morning workout just help that much in waking my body up?  I have such a better day when I start it with a workout…     

0630 crossfit workout
10 minutes of skill work on an exercise of your choosing (something you cannot rx)
muscle-ups / handstand push-ups
3 RFT (rounds for time) of:
800 meter run
30 box jumps
30 kettlebell swings @ 2 pood (pick a weight you can complete first 2 sets unbroken)
22:45

I tried working on muscle-ups…needs lots more practice!  so I alternated handstand push-ups into the mix, which I’ve been working on for a few weeks now.  I cranked out a set of 5 handstand push-ups using 2 abmats, and 2 sets of 3 handstand push-ups using 1 abmat.  oh yeah, and zero muscle-ups.  can’t help but wonder if I should have practiced with the bands.  

for the WOD, I used a 1.5 pood kettlebell, and still didn’t complete a single set unbroken…I was smoked!  I was neck and neck with one of the other0630 regulars.  he finished in 22:44 (with a 2 pood kettlebell…unbroken)…dude’s a beast.  I beat him on the run and the box jumps, but he blew me out of the water on the kettlebell swings.  seriously, during this workout I wanted to quit…I wanted to die!  kicked my @$$!   

in honor of this past weekend’s comeback against the bosox (let’s go Yankees!):

http://newyork.yankees.mlb.com/mlb/gameday/index.jsp?gid=2012_04_21_nyamlb_bosmlb_1&mode=recap_away&c_id=nyy

2 Comments leave one →
  1. shianwrites permalink
    April 26, 2012 11:07 pm

    I wanted to let you know that I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award! You can see the post here: http://shianwrites.wordpress.com/2012/04/26/versatile-blogger-award/ Congratulations! Here’s the website if you want more info on your award: http://versatilebloggeraward.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

