Skip to content

ugh…overhead squats

June 6, 2012

0630 crossfit workout
Nancy
5 RFT (rounds for time) of:
400 meter run
15 overhead squats @ 95lbs / 65lbs
17:07

supplemental
squats
135 x 5 x 3 

scaled the overhead squats to 65lbs.  yeah, that’s right…I used the girl’s weight today!  I hate overhead squats.  my hips lock up at a certain point and don’t allow me to go any farther…feels like they’ll break if I do.  they’ve been super stiff lately.  I need to find a good stretch to help loosen them up.  I think the yoga frog helps a little.  they did loosen up a bit as I got further into the workout.   

hopefully, the workout sucked the life out of me…because my supplemental squats felt extra special heavy this morning! 

been a bit behind on the blog…been way behind on my school work.  struggling big time this semester! 

Tuesday’s 0630 crossfit workout
21 – 15 – 9
deadlifts @ 225lbs / 155lbs
kettlebell swings @ 2 pood / 1.5 pood
cash out – 50 knees to elbows
14:42

scaled the deadlifts to 185lbs & the kettlebell swings to 1.5 pood…especially after pulling something in my back the week prior with the 2 pood, and irratating it later on that week with deadlifts.  I don’t normally lay down after my workouts.  I crashed hard after this one and could have easily passed out on the gym floor!  185lbs deadlifts kicked my @$$!   

Monday’s 0630 crossfit workout
30 – 25 – 20 – 15 – 10
wall ball shots 2olbs ball
butterfly sit-ups 45lbs plate
double-unders
20 minute cap or DNF (did not finish)
rx 15:57

supplemental (pre-workout)
bench press
155 x 5 x 3

I was worried about my double-unders since I hadn’t done any in about a  month due to business travel.  to my surprise, minimal time was spent tripping over the rope…and my own two feet.  I realized that I actually slowed down my rope speed which helped drastically.    

despite my intentions to hit crossfit Saturday morning, I don’t think my wife was very thrilled about the concept.  so I avoided the @$$ chewing and took advantage of a little extra rest time.  well, not that I slept in or anything…I just didn’t go to crossfit.  which was probably a good thing…whole rest and all!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

