Skip to content

death by homework

June 9, 2012

0800 crossfit workout
Cindy
20 minute AMRAP (as many rounds as possible) of:
5 pull-ups
10 push-ups
15 squats
13 rounds, 5 pull-ups, 10 push-ups, 3 squats

slept in yesterday…had a few late nights during the week, and woke up with a headache…dragged @$$ most of the day, if not all day.  what a difference a workout makes to start the day.  looked like a good workout too.  weighted push-ups, death by butterfly sit-ups, 1 mile run.  resting 2 minutes (I believe) between exercises.  sorry I missed that one.   

Thursday’s 0630 crossfit workout
5, 3, 2, 2, 1
clean & split jerk
145lbs

power cleans
120lbs x 3 x 5

skipped the metcon (did power cleans instead) since I had an hour’s commute for work that morning…

compared to May 10, 2012 where I got 12 rounds, 5 pull-ups…I improved my score by one full round…plus some.  not too shabby considering that was just about one month ago.  but…I believe the equipment / facility had a lot to do with that.  when I did Cindy back in May, I was away on business.  the gym / equipment was sub-par compared to the crossfit gym.  the machine / pull-up bar I was using…the handles were just below the ceiling.  a ceiling tile had to be removed in order for my chin to clear the bar (without banging my head every time).  jumping up to the bar was not an option.  I had to set my hands up first, and I had to do so while on the tips of my toes.  I also didn’t have a medicine ball for my air squats back in May, and I believe that makes a difference in regards to speed (having a set spot to drop down to each rep).  I need to work on my kipping pull-ups!  I received a little instruction this morning after the workout.  practice, practice.  I’m sure once I get the hang of them, my score will beat the shit out of my dead hang pull-up score!  as of this morning, I officially kicked the 5lbs I gained while away on business.  for the moment, I am at 170lbs.  might not last very long.  I’ve got plans to drink some beer tonight after I spend most of the day doing homework…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

