Skip to content

getting ready to change things up a bit

August 6, 2012

so…I’ve been reading up on GSLP (Greyskull Linear Progression) lately, here:

http://board.crossfit.com/showthread.php?t=68627

and here:

http://strengthvillain.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=89 

I’m trying to get everything together so I can start Monday.  I bought the e-book over the weekend because I still had some unanswered questions, and because most people on the boards recommend reading it:

http://strengthvillain.myshopify.com/collections/frontpage/products/the-greyskull-lp-second-edition 

I also ordered a neck harness:

http://www.amazon.com/Body-Solid-MA307N-Nylon-Harness/dp/B0010XRMLQ/ref=cm_lmf_img_3  

I think the last thing I need to do is order some 1.25lbs plates, if I can’t find them at Dick’s Sporting Goods.  well…that, and continue reading up on the program.  the program I plan on following is Greyskull LP with Greyskull Gladiator “Linebacker” Focus.  I will list the details once I map out exactly how I plan on attacking this thing.     

I’ve been following crossfit for the last 7 months with minimal strength training.  honestly, I’ve been doing too much crossfit / conditioning to reap the benefits of strength training.  since starting crossfit, I lost 20lbs.  I’m sure a good bit of that was muscle / strength.  so…I’m planning on changing things up a bit in hopes of returning stronger.

I also re-implemented protein powder into my regimen.  after surfing the crossfit boards, I went with AtLargeNutrition’s Nitrean+.  one of the co-owners is a member of the crossfit message board and posts regularly.  I liked what he had to say and learned some interesting things concerning the supplement industry.  he also offers a discount for forum members.  check him out at atlargenutrition.com  I even ordered some creatine monohydrate from him. 

I’ve been playing around with it, but my post workout shake has consisted of:
1 scoop of vanilla nitrean+  
2 – 4 oz of coconut milk
2 – 4 oz almond milk (mainly for taste vs water)
1/4 – 1/2 cup of quick oats
1 banana
a little bit of crushed ice

Monday (08/06/2012)

this was another workout that left me a little discouraged.  I’ve encountered a few of them lately.  seems like I’ve been experiencing some highs and lows of training lately.  I scaled my power cleans to 135lbs, and my chest to bar pull-ups were pretty much strict since I can’t seem to grasp the art of the kip.  so…much of my time was spent on power cleans, and even more time was spent on chest-to-bar pull-ups.  I at least felt pretty good about my 1 mile run.  the turn around always f*cks with me.  I hate breaking stride to turn around.  this morning’s route consisted of 3 turn-arounds.  they really kill my momentum.   

Sunday (08/05/2012)
rest day

Saturday (08/04/2012)

scaled my push press to 95lbs.  my shoulders were throbbing during / after this one.  something about push press and thrusters gets my shoulders every time…and not in a good way. 

Friday (08/03/2012)
rest day

Thursday (08/02/2012)

oh man, this was an @$$ kicker!  it didn’t help that the humidity felt worse inside than it did outside.  when I went back at lunch for the supplemental work, it was much cooler inside.  the scores were much higher as the day went on.  and I was really pushing hard to get 12 rounds.  the climate control advantage was not in my favor on this one. 

lunch time supplemental:
squats
185lbs x 5 x 3
overhead press
115lbs x 3 3 3 (FAIL)
power cleans
115lbs x 3 x 5

Wednesday (08/01/2012)
rest day

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

