Skip to content

enter greyskull

August 13, 2012

Monday (08/13/2012)
0630
warm-up:
jump rope x 300 single leg (alternate legs every 2 jumps)
stretch
400m run
3 rounds of crossfit warm-up:
15 second samson stretch
5 pvc overhead squats
5 GHD sit-ups
5 back extensions
5 pull-ups
5 ring dips

press 95lbs x 5 x 2, 95lbs x 8
weighted chin-ups 15lbs x 9, 7
squat 135lbs x 5 x 2, 135lbs x 10

and that’s all I got done in the this morning’s alloted time.  I still need to do:
neck harness 12.5lbs x 25 x 4
FM chin-ups & push-ups
VC1 burpee challenge 3 sets of 10 (under 30 seconds each with 1 minute rest between sets)

and this is what I was afraid of…fighting the clock.  I like getting up, getting my workout knocked out first thing in the morning, and not having to worry about it for the rest of the day.  I guess I’ll either have to tailor things, or get to the gym a bit earlier…I’m not really thrilled about either. 

I don’t know what was wrong with me this morning, but I just didn’t feel as comfortable as I should have on my squats.  maybe I was going lower than normal.  maybe I was pausing at the bottom.  135lbs should not have been that hard.         

1st set of FM chin-ups (10) & FM push ups (15) @ 0930
2nd set of FM chin-ups (10) & FM push-ups (15) @ 1315
neck harness 12.5lbs x 25 x 4 @ 1330
3rd set of FM chin-ups (10) & FM push-ups (15) @ 1615
4th set of FM chin-ups (10) & FM push-ups (15) @ 1900

my plan right now is to get in at least 3 sets of FM chins-ups & push-ups throughout the work day (start of the day, lunch time, end of the day), and then at least one set at home. 

VC1 – 10 burpees in 30 seconds x 3 sets with 1 minute rest in between sets @ 1930 
this was harder than I imagined.  my first set was a real close call.  I had to switch things up a bit, and hit the floor much faster which = more stress on the body.  I normally ease my way down like a squat thrust.  I was forced to go down more like a sprawl in order to speed things up. 

man…I ate like a freakin’ champ today.  if only I could eat this well everyday! 

Sunday (08/12/2012)
rest day

Saturday (08/11/2012)
crossfit…of the poker variation
each player picks 10 chips
each chip represents 5 reps
1st player done gets to sub 1 exercise on the board for an exercise of their choice
5 minute cap

1st round
blue – press @ 115lbs
black – bench press body weight (I used 165lbs)
red – GHD sit-ups
green – strict pull-ups

2nd round sub
red – front squats @115lbs

3rd round sub
blue – ring dips

4th round sub
black – incline push-ups

end it all with 1 rope climb (I went up a second time because I’ve always enjoyed climbing, and because I got my butt kicked everywhere else). 

the only round I completed under the 5 minute cap was the last one.  the press was the worst exercise of them all, and I’m sure it didn’t help my bench press reps any.  the first round I had 4 blue chips and knew I was doomed!  I tried breaking everything up into circuits, which I don’t believe was the best way.  I had a hard enough time keeping track of everything I was supposed to be doing…let alone sticking to a plan. 
 
Friday (08/10/2012)

scaled my deadlift to 185lbs…and it still felt really heavy!  and yeah…knocking out 50 GHD sit-ups sucks!   

evening neck harness
10lbs x 25 x 4

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

