Skip to content

Osiris Houdini

October 5, 2012

16 August 2002 – 17 September 2012

this has been a surprisingly emotional experience for me.  I fight back the urge to cry, but sometimes I just want to ball my freaking eyes out.  life has not been, and will never be the same without him.  I still wake up in the morning and tip-toe carefully in the dark as if to avoid stepping on him.  and every now and then, I catch a glimpse of something out of the corner of my eye that I think is him…       

one of my wife’s friends recommended this book for the kids.  what an awesome idea.  I got choked up reading it in the book store.  I’m glad my wife read it to them the first time…     

3 Comments leave one →
  1. MikeW permalink
    November 18, 2012 12:00 am

    Oh brother, you speak the truth. Same experience, our Weimaraner at 15. Did bawl. Dang near died on the spot with him. Didn’t expect the intensity of it. It was his innocence, to me. His innocence and pure devotion was like a prophecy of heart striking lightening when he left. There’s heaven in dogs, we mourn when they take a piece of heaven back. I’ll bet it is one way to make us forge on looking for them, just as if they’d jumped the fence. Maybe we jumped the fence and they’d come to signal us back. Holy mercy.

    • November 29, 2012 10:16 am

      Mike,

      Thanks for the kind words. I apologize for the delayed response, but every time I attempt to reply, I re-read your comment and get all choked up thinking about my pal. It’s almost as if I’ve been avoiding thinking about him in order to avoid the pain…which is crazy, because he brought so much joy and happiness to our family. I’m sorry for your loss. I definitely wasn’t expecting this level of intensity either. Thanks again for taking the time to leave your meaningful comment.

      Rob

      • MikeW permalink
        December 2, 2012 3:02 pm

        The depth of pain here I believe shadows the depth of loving triumph possible in the after life when we finish this race.

Leave a Reply

