Skip to content

too dang skinny!

April 19, 2013

Thursday 04/18/2013
CFWU @ 5 / 45 x 3 (I was increasing my reps after each successful week of training, but I have since come away from that idea because my warm-up was turning into…well, more than a warm-up)
Press
45 x 5, 55 x 5
65 x 3, 70 x 5
80 x 5, 90 x 5+ (7) kicked my @$$!

IMG-20130416-00425

I pulled Tuesday’s workout from the main page.  It looked awesome…on paper.  Man, did it knock me on my @$$!  I figured I would struggle with it, but I had no idea it would be that awful.  10 rounds quickly changed to a 20 minute AMRAP.  My conditioning sure ain’t what it used to be!  I felt all kinds of weak afterwards, and just sat around for a good while afterwards.  It had been way too long since I had done a metcon.   

IMG-20130415-00423

IMG-20130331-00407

IMG-20130402-00410

I have been wanting a drum set for so long.  We finally gave in and purchased a set as the boys’ (and my) Easter gift.  I am hopeful that at least one (if not all) of them will really get into playing.  I wish I could quit school and focus all of the time and attention on playing (learning to play) the drums.  It would be much more rewarding and far less stressful; relaxing / stress relieving in fact.  I’m loving them…wish we would have bought them a long time ago. 

IMG-20130413-00422

the wife and I went and got new tattoos together this past weekend.  I got Popeye on my bicep because well, “I am what I am.”  I got him on my bicep because of the animations (like tanks) they would show in his biceps after he ate some spinach.  I am very pleased with the artist’s work.  It’s healing up nicely and is currently in the itch like hell phase.     

IMG-20130418-00434

I haven’t taken any progress pics in quite a while (since abandoning everyday metcons).  sure, all those metcons were helpful in losing weight, but along with the weight I lost size and strength.  sure, I had visible abs and my cardio was great, but I was withering away…not cool.  so, I’ve changed things up a bit to follow 5/3/1 four days a week with 2 metcons a week (3 days on, 1 day off).  I need to put on some size and strength.  I’m too dang skinny!  my weight is up a few pounds; currently 173 from 167, but my diet hasn’t been the cleanest (it hasn’t been the worst either).  I had three beers and at least 4 brownies the other night with my wife for example…gotta live right???  hopefully, it’s not all going straight to my midsection (which I’m sure it is).  so, I need to lift more, eat more, and sleep more.  which has been difficult this semester between getting sick and late nights spent working on meeting assignment deadlines.  I’m taking a Science class right now that’s kicking my @$$!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

